A Project for Better Journalism chapter
Be sure to follow our Twitter and Instagram @ChargerChant
Featured, News

31 Clark seniors named National Merit semifinalists

For the third year in a row, Ed W. Clark High School’s graduating class has set a new state record with 31 national merit semifinalists. Clark had 25 in 2018 and 23 in 2017. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced this year’s semifinalists in the second round of the National Merit Scholarship. These students qualified as Semifinalists through their performance on the PSAT/NSMQT (Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying test) taken in high school students’ junior year.

These students represent less than the one percent of US high school seniors, including the highest scoring entrants of each state. As National Merit semifinalists, they will find themselves prioritized by a number of different colleges. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation will announce the award’s finalists in April; finalists are eligible for scholarships at universities nationwide.

The following Clark seniors were named 2019 National Merit Semifinalists:

Aidan Abbott
Alexander Bean
Gwendolyn Berardinelli
Mark Bernales
Jonathan Brockett
Annabelle Chu
Chrysia Edano
Grace Gu
Ivan Guerrero
Ryan Jin
Shadman Kabir
Mia Lorenzo
Shaan Majid
Ariana Makar
Eesha Nanduri
Jay Parikh
Kian Samra
Rishabh Saran
Abeerah Siddiqui
Ameya Singh
Ashley Su
Peggy Tobar
Kanokwan Tungkitkancharoen
Eshaan Vakil
Katherine Van Voorhis
Meghana Veeramachaneni
Sharon Vernaz
Opalina Vetrichelvan
Lorenz Vios
Lily Yan
Justin Yu


Contact Jaiden Reddy at jaidenreddy ‘at’ gmail.com.